Thread: New player experience is horrible

Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 373

New player experience is horrible

Well hello there, just started playing roughly 3 days ago and all I could say is it's been frustrating. To preface, I've never really had any extensive PC MOBA experience aside from the first DOTA which was years ago and a mobile moba called Vainglory. So Smite is my first actual PC MOBA. However, I have 400 hours invested into Paladins, so I have at least some experience in a team-based hero game.

So I started playing the game. Okay, decent tutorial, gives you the basics and as well as 5 gods of each class. The item menu was quite extensive and confusing at first but I got used to it. Then, as the tutorial finishes it throws you into the main menu.

And holy fuck.

I get that why some folks said this game looked like it hasn't made any progress beyond 2012, that main menu UI is fucking cluttered. Ads for chests and skins just barrage and clutter the whole screen horrendously it might as well be a billboard in Times Square. It took me several minutes to just comprehend the UI.

Okay, time for some matches. Before throwing myself into PvP, I decided to play bots first on medium settings since that seems to be the max difficulty. Andddd why are our Allied bots so stupid? Why did you make the enemy bots purposely better than my team's bots? It's not a challenge for me since I just dominate vs bots, but it's hard to win when your allied bots lose every god damn fight. Plus, it's impossible to test out Guardian/Support classes since you won't be able to do enough actual damage to carry your stupid allied bots.